4 Levels of Love

Category: Insight
4 levels of love


This four-letter word sets "the tone" for much.

Movies, conversation, lifelong pursuits.

This thing we all find, or attempt to find, in our relationships.

We each have a different experience of what this word means to us.

We each have a different history and future with this word.

Love can exist in various groups of people.

It can exist amongst families. 

Or friends.

Or in a romantic relationship.

Perhaps even with a stranger.

I've recently shared with my team – I love them.

I love who they are.

I love all the projects we're working on and how it serves the world.

I love each of my clients and the work I do with them. 

I'm in love. 

I remember learning about 4 levels of love, something which took a while to marinate:

Level 1: I love you when you do what I want (conditional love, parent/child)

Level 2: I love you for who you are (partial love)

Level 3: I love you for who you are and for who you are not (whole love)

Level 4: I love to love

Level 4 love is Ghandi's or Mother Teresa's level of love.

Once I knew how to love within these levels, I had to ask myself:

How do I want to love?

By Matthew Gallizzi. Consultant. Thinking Partner. Strategic Advisor. He believes our language creates our world. He equips business leaders as they live into their future vision.

Get our weekly articles and The Life & Business Visioning Guide.